Journal Entries

Guests thoughts about their stay..

Guest Reviews

Driftwood Kottage

It was very clean and so well supplied!


We stayed in the Driftwood Kottage. It was very clean and so well supplied---from q-tips in the bathroom to waffles in the freezer to a basket of games on the stair landing. Kara has thought of everything, and we lacked for nothing! Ample parking on property. Motion detector lights in carport and stairwell were much appreciated. Simple access to unit using keypad. I enjoyed sitting out by the fire pit in the evening as well as the roku and the white noise machine in the bedroom (so I didn't have to use my app and drain my phone), and my husband enjoyed the mini-bar! Very nicely landscaped. Location was great---easy walk to downtown for meals.

Tim July 2018

SO cozy and beautifully decorated!


What a find! Thank goodness all of the chain hotels were booked up and we were forced to think out-of-the-box. My only regret is that we didn't know of this place sooner and this is our last trip to the area. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Driftwood Kottage. It was SO cozy and beautifully decorated. No detail is spared. Honestly, we will be sad to leave. Kara makes the stay so homey: the fridge is loaded for breakfast, tons of supplies, and just a welcome, high-end, help-yourself feel to everything. Even the outside space is lovely: nice landscaping inside a private patio with a grill and relaxing furniture. And all of this cost quite a bit less than the two rooms we would have booked at a sterile, cookie-cutter chain. The only thing to be aware of if you book this particular apartment is that the entry steps are quite steep...think Amsterdam. So if you have a big dog or a walking problem, you should request a different apartment.

Alissa June 2017

fantastic place.


Had a wonderful stay in fantastic place. It was also so great to meet you. Keep doing what you do, because you do it so well.. We'll see you next year.

Barbara July 2016

 
conveniently located.


Cozy, comfy B&B conveniently located. We loved having a stocked fridge and DVDs and a little fireplace for when we wanted to relax. Easy to come and go. Enjoyed our stay

Katie December 2015 

It was absolutely perfect!


My husband took me here on our wedding anniversary! It was absolutely perfect! Great experience. Enjoyed the breakfast that they offered. Highly recommend anyone looking for a night away and those who want to be comfortable and cozy. I would definitely come back to Kara's Kottages.

Sarah October 2014

It was so cozy and I felt so comfortable.


We have had a fabulous time in your kottge. It was so cozy and I felt so comfortable. The kottage contains everything to make for a great time. I love the decor and furnishings, too. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

Janet October 2013


I would recommend and stay again.


Thank you so much for this lovely "home away from home". We enjoyed our stay very much. The little details that you have put into your thought process when creating this is amazing. Thank you again! I would recommend and stay again.

Jody & Donnell September 2013

It has been utterly delightful.


Sometimes when one is traveling around, the temptation is to stay in chain hotels as at least you know what you're going to get. I'm very glad David took a punt on your place, because it has been utterly delightful. We have felt incredibly relaxed and at home and the generosity of your catering is outstanding. Thanks very much ~ and meeting you was and unexpected bonus!

Caroline & David September 2013 

Two thumbs up, high 5, fist bump & good game!


What an adorable, romantic get-away you have! I must admit, I (as most of us girls will) peeked at previous guest notes of appreciation. My hubby and I are in total agreement.. Amazing! Two thumbs up, high 5, fist bump & good game! So lovely, Better than any 4 or 5 star hotel we've stayed in! We will rave about your quaint, cozy homey, adobes. Ps.. Coffee by the "fireplace".. Amazing. We slept soo sound! The bed and pillows felt like clouds! Before I forget, the train going by was a wonderful surprise! Our visit was enjoyable.. Hate to leave. I'm sure we'll be here again and we will be staying here. Once again, you made us feel welcomed just as soon as we pulled up. Would have been nice meeting you.. Maybe next time.

Patty & Michael September 2013

Go Kara!


Agreed (see previous entries).. Fantastic to have all the touches of home. Usually a "stocked kitchen" just means dishes and cookware. The spices, salad dressings, etc.. are so nice to be able to use just the little you need. Also, love the recycling and the reuse! Go Kara! 
Ps: Great use of space ~ Lots of storage, especially convenient to travelers!

Neva & Bar July 2013

Loved this room!


Loved this room! It really feels like home and is much better than a regular hotel. So many touches : )

Dayna & Nick June 2013

Your attention to detail is impeccable.


Thank you for an amazing stay! Your attention to detail is impeccable and your kottage was lovely. Andrew & I really enjoyed our time here and hope to be back!

Abby & Andrew May 2013

 

 

You are a master of your craft..


I cannot express enough my gratitude for the part you've played in making our 3 days in Kalamazoo enjoyable and productive. You have been an absolute gem to work with and more than accommodating when our original plans took and unexpected turn. You are a master of your craft and if your goal is to make guests feel cozy, comfortable, relaxed, happy and valued, you have been more than successful. I hope this year brings you inspiration and loads of joy!

Kidest & Stacey March 2013

 

The "K"ottage is perfect!


We've enjoyed our stay immensely. With a daughter who is a sophmore at K-College, we're delighted to have found such a lovely, cozy place to stay when visiting ~ You've thought of every little detail! The "K"ottage is perfect!

Rod, Stacie & Ellie October 2012

 

We had a lovely stay.


We had a lovely stay. The kottages were beautiful ~ A great retreat from the Medieval Conference! South Haven was a great day trip for those of us stranded by the conference.

The Klein's May 2012

 

Perfect spot to spend some mother-daughter time.


What a lovely place for a weekend retreat for both me and my daughter; a student at K-College. She loved the cozy bed in the smaller bedroom, as she reports that her dorm bed is as hard as a board. Perfect spot to spend some mother-daughter time ~ Thank you for making it so!

Helen & Hannah May 2012

 

Charming


Our family was in town for the WMU Graduation weekend. Great location. Plenty of room in the bedrooms and charmingly decorated with many small touches that made us feel at home. The owner was very kind and helpful. Thanks, Kara for a Great stay!

Kristine April 2012 

 

 

 

 


Birch Bark Kottage

 

Outstanding experience!

A wonderful place to stay. Very well organized and clean. Great team to provide an outstanding experience for your stay. I highly recommend!

Ronnie July 2018

5 star place to stay!

A 5 star plus place to stay. I Recently rented the two bedroom Birch Bark on Main Street conveniently located near Downtown Kalamazoo and both college campuses. The place is spacious, clean, cozy and tastefully decorated. Breakfast and kitchen staple items are stocked. Just about anything you might need is there, including the most comfortable white robes for each guest.

Carolo December 2017

All you could want and then more!

We stayed in the Birch Bark Kottage for just one night and all of us wished we could stay longer! Although our teenage son was leery of staying in a B&B, this was not a typical set up. We had a whole two-bedroom apartment to ourselves with a private entrance. The Kottage was decorated beautifully, with an upscale, earthy world-culture vibe. Every amenity has been considered-- even to-go cups for coffee on the run. We didn't have time to get much for breakfast but all the fixings were there for us to make our own. Best of all, the beds were super comfy!The location was extremely convenient for a visit to Kalamazoo College or Western MI U. and for dinner in downtown Kalamazoo.
The owner,Kara, is very nice and helpful. Stay there; you will love it!

Ellen March 2016

Great Place to Stay!

This is a great little place to stay! We stayed in the Birch Bark cottage. It has a fully stocked kitchen to make breakfast or anything you might care to really. The fridge and freezer are full of food and there is a mini-bar in the fridge. If you are looking for wine, then I suggest that you go to Tiffany's wine store. It is an uphill walk, but totally worth it! If you want beer, you should walk to one of the micro breweries just off of Main St. (BigDogzz or Tippy's) or Bell's General Store downtown. If you are staying for a while, you might consider purchasing a mini-growler or growler rather than bottles.
The beds are super comfy, if a little high for those of us who are on the shorter side. Also, there is a white noise machine in the bedrooms if you want to make use of it. We're city folk, so the sound of traffic doesn't really bother us too much. It is also really close to the Amtrak rail line, which is fine if you like trains, which we do, but if you don't you might want to consider staying in one of the other apartments.

Rhea February 2015

The cottage was so convenient.

Such a relaxing weekend! We were visiting a student at Kalamazoo College and the cottage was so convenient. Great beds and everything you could possibly want for an overnight stay. Will definitely plan my next trip around availability with Kara!

Donna November 2014

Bravo, Kara!

I felt at home in such a beautiful environment.
Thank you for such an amazing place to have some much needed rest and relaxation. I felt at home in such a beautiful environment. I cannot wait to come back and spend more time here!

Brian & Irene October 2013

This is a really wonderful place!

This is really a wonderful place! All of the thoughtful little touches made it seem just like home (although with much more tasteful decor). Thanks so much - we will be back our next time in town.

Steve, Jennifer & Eleanor June 2013

It's an amazing experience to stay here..

First time to be here in Michigan for us. We came here to celebrate our daughter's wedding in Three Rivers, MI. Thanks for making Kalamazoo our favorite stop during the summer! It's an amazing experience to stay here with food surroundings and sweet air. All the facilities and stuff were very nice and efficient. I would like to recommend this nice kottage to my friends in Korea and elsewhere.

Cho Family October 2013

Thanks for making Kalamazoo our favorite stop..

This is our little home when we are in Michigan. Everything is set just as it would be at our house. I say, I wonder if there is a cheese grater? And sure enough, I found one. All of our travels have taught us that this is not always the case. Thanks for making Kalamazoo our favorite stop during the summer!

Lloyd, Melissa & Bandit August 2013

The kottage was exactly what we needed.

We got married this weekend and the kottage was exactly what we needed! Our friends and family gathered here and we had a great time.. Thank you!

Hannah & Jim August 2013

Beautiful aesthetic..

The four of us found your lovely kottage to be just the ticket for our stay in Kalamazoo! Thank you for thinking of virtually everything a traveler could need, plus your beautiful aesthetic made the stay so very enjoyable.

Lori, Andy, Judy & Phil July 2013 

We couldn't be more happy!!

We came here looking for a small, relaxing vacation and we couldn't be more happy!! We loved the small treats this fantastic place had to offer. We took our dog out to play in the park in the mornings and BBQ'd every night and enjoyed the wonderful Kalamazoo breeze out on the deck. We played board games all night and when we got sleepy, we enjoyed a movie from bed. PS.. If you lay with the door open in the bedroom directly across from the tv, you can watch it from bed!! Kara, we loved your place! Thank you so much for all the wonderful accommodations!

Azul & Ed July 2013 

We couldn't have asked for a better stay.

We have had such an incredible weekend. We had the whole family here for my graduation weekend. It was the first time most of them had seen Kalamazoo; my home of the last four years. We went to Martini's , Bell's, Rustica, a beautiful Baccalaureate presentation and gathering with my five housemates at the kottage. It was a beautiful 75 degree day.. everyone had a wonderful time and we couldn't have asked for a better stay. Thank you so much for providing such a lovely place for us. It was our second time here and hopefully, we'll have many more in our future.

Laura, Hannah, Mark & Mara June 2013

Bravo, Kara!

Hello dear Kara! Thank you! Tutto very well! Beds! Bella (Beautiful) Kalamazoo! Bravo, Kara!

Creme Family  June 2013

 

This was an absolute dream come true..

This was an absolute dream come true and I can't thank you enough for sharing this incredible place with us. Having a place to stay that feels like home is a true blessing; you are truly one of a kind!

Heather & Rafael  May 2013

 

It gave us all the serenity that we were seeking..

My husband and I came in town for my best friends wedding weekend and were so blessed to have found this beautiful place to stay. This was also our first time away from our almost two year old little girl and it gave us all the serenity that we were seeking and more! Thank you so much for all your hospitality! We look forward to many return visits : ).

Amanda & Josh May 2013

 

This will be our choice for all future trips.

What a spectacular experience! By far, the nicest place I have ever had the opportunity to stay, here in Michigan. We were here for a Medieval conference and this will be our choice for all future trips! Thank you so much for a perfect stay.

Stephanie & Matt  May 2013

 

Decor-beautiful and SO clean...

What an awesome place : ). My husband & I came to town for a Willie Nelson concert. The concert was great. And then to come into your B & B topped our "mini-vacation". Decor-beautiful and SO clean! If we are in town again-forget hotels.. We are staying here! Passing the word on.. Thanks for your hospitality!

Judy & Bill May 2013

Wonderfully cozy ~ A haven ~ A find!

You've anticipated every need.. So thoughtfully equipped. Wonderfully cozy. A haven. A find! We will be back~this is the perfect stop over or meeting place for us. We live north of Chicago and have family in SE MI. A nephew/cousin will be at K-College in the fall. : ) Looking forward to many more stays.

Becky, son & pooch May 2013

Thanks for a wonderful 2 days.

There is no need for us to tell you the same thing everyone else did. It was homey. It was beautiful. I can't say it was like home because my home isn't nearly as beautiful. Thanks for a wonderful 2 days. Finding Kara's Kottages was a challenge that was well worth the effort. Hopefully, we'll return in the future for another dose of "Kara's".

Kathy & Chris  April 2013

You are a marvelous creator!

Thanks so much for creating such a warm and friendly atmosphere for our stay in Kalamazoo ~ This kottage is just as lovely as the upstairs one we stayed at last time, here. You are a marvelous creator!

Stan & Meredith  April 2013

Our stay was amazing!

Our stay was amazing! I loved every inch of the space. Your style is very detailed and makes the home feel like home. Thank you so much for the experience.. We will be back again, soon. P.S. You were right on when you suggested Kalamazoo Kitty!

Janna & Brandon April 2013

We had a fantastic time here!

We had a fantastic time here! I had 12 girls here for a bachelorette party. What a great time/memories we had! Your place is so beautiful. Thanks for letting all of us get together and have a great time!

The girls April 2013

I am so glad that we found your kottage.

I am so glad that we found your kottage. It made our trip to Kalamazoo very enjoyable. You have a done a wonderful job making this place a home away from home.

Susan, Patrick & Evelyn April 2013

 

This place was a hit with the family.

Thank you, Kara.. This place was a big hit with the family! We can't wait til we can stay again. I left a cd for you. I think that you should start collecting music from all the musicians that stay here!

Rachel Davis, Musician March 2013

 

Stunning!

My friend and I stayed here for a long weekend and it was beautiful. When I walked into the Kottage all I could do was smile. It truly is gorgeous. Kara's decorating is so warm and comfortable. Everything we needed for a weekend 'stay in' was available. I literally could live here. Thank you, Kara, for allowing us to stay in your Kottage. We hope to enjoy it again!

Andrea March 2013

 

It's beautiful design makes you feel right at home

What an amazing space! It's beautiful design makes you feel right at home. We stayed for a night, but could have stayed for a week. Thanks you for a wonderful trip to Kalamazoo, made in part by the home away from home you've created.

Heather, Norah, Jo & Bryan  February 2013

 

What an incredible place to celebrate!

We came here last night from all ends of the US to celebrate my wedding and what an incredible place to celebrate! Your place was so warm & welcoming.. We couldn't have chosen a better place to gather 15 crazy woman! Thank you so much for providing such an amazing experience for my last night of "freedom"!

Becky Sue & her gang November 2012

 

We were in awe of what we saw..

My aunt, cousin and I came in for a family weekend and found your place on VRBO. We missed your driveway not once, but twice and after we pulled in, we punched in our key code and found ourselves in front of a dead-end laundry room. After almost peeing in our pants, we finally found our way inside and were in awe of what we saw. From the moment you walk in the door there were "oohs and aahs" at every turn of your head. The warm, inviting colors, the unique and one of a kind decor.. I am an artist and I marvel at the fact that not one of your decorations/furniture is the same. As I described to my mother.. "It's straight out of a Pier 1 catalog" . My cousin loved it so much, she said the words "This is what my dream house would look like". After staying for an entire weekend, I can say I felt truly at home. Like a previous guest said, you truly thought of everything; Ibuprofen for my hangover, a recycle bin, firewood, motion lights in all the important places, breakfast staples, laundry baskets, movies, games, umbrellas.. you name it! We took full advantage of the fire pit and sat on the gorgeous patio by the fire with the fallen leaves and the twinkle lights, drinking good Michigan beer and talking for hours. I would rave about your place to everyone considering coming out here for a visit. While I could go on, I will close by saying that you could make a small fortune on this place because it really is a gem. Thank you for everything ~ I hope we can come back someday!

Meagan & Maureen October 2012

 

If home is "where the heart is", than this is home

If it is true that the definition of home is "where the heart is", then this is home. Kara's Kottages has been home for reunion of family and celebration of friendship. I have been fortunate to have traveled and stayed at some of the finest hotel properties around the world. Often there are needs not met. Beautiful places with no heart, soul and personality. If this is your first stay here, I suggest you look around. There are many subtle surprises designed to make you feel at home. I will not list them. There are too many and it would take some of the fun away. Enjoy!!

Mark & Jake (his trusted companion) October 2012

 

Thank you for your vision..

We came for a conference and found ourselves having a vacation, instead. Terrific place, Kara. Thank you for your vision and for fresh flowers!

Carrie & Gina October 2012

 

A perfect place to say when we visit Kalamazoo.

We had a wonderful weekend. It is a perfect place to stay when we visit Kalamazoo.

Tom & Pam October 2012

 

Adorable, comfortable and homey..

We loved your place! Adorable, comfortable and homey. We can't wait to return in June for our dauhter's graduation from Kalamazoo College.

Laura September 2012

 

What a cozy and beautiful spot.

Our annual woman's weekend at Kara's Kottages was again a special time. We were so lucky to be able to witness Kara in her new role as B&B hostess, a part she seemed to be born to do. What a cozy and beautiful spot. Again, Kalamazoo charmed us.

Kathy June 2012


Pine Cone Kottage

Plenty of Storage Space!

The Pine Cone studio was perfect! Quaint, cozy, charming... Honestly, it looked like a page ripped out of a Crate and Barrel catalog! While the space is small (I mean, c'mon, it IS a studio!), the layout worked well and doesn't leave you feeling boxed in or cramped. Everything the Pine Cone offered was either as I expected or better. While my stay was only for a weekend, there is *plenty* of storage space for anyone staying for an extended amount of time. One of my favorite parts: Kara left some items to make a killer breakfast -- everything from coffee and tea, to cold cereal or hot, to eggs or bagels and cream cheese or pancakes! There was also a little mini-bar in the fridge too (As a heads up: airbnb guests will need to pay cash for the mini-bar items). Next time I'm in the KZoo area I'll definitely look into the Kottages again; thanks for everything, Kara!

Emily February 2018

Great Seating Area!

I was fortunate to score  the Pine Cone suite at this really innovative Kalamazoo B&B. I have stayed in several of the chain hotels over the years, most of which seem to be clustered around the major highways, very noisy, and without much in the way of character. And I have mostly avoided B&B's because I find the usual uber-Victorian theme overdone.  I like the self-contained suite format. The fully-stocked fridge enabled me to have whatever I wanted for breakfast whenever I wanted. And she had a "mini-bar" in the fridge, with a selection of beer (Bell's Brewery, yum), wine, soda, etc. all modestly priced, as well as lots of snacks for sale. The Pine Cone Kottage had a great seating area, cable TV, a nice selection of DVD's, a very comfortable bed, and a nice bathroom (which itself was stocked with just about everything I could have needed... I could have left my entire 3-1-1 bag at home). The room was QUIET, and Kara's is very centrally located to many great Kazoo restaurants and bars. This is my new Kalamazoo address!

Tom March 2017

Clean and Cozy!

Easy to follow check-in instructions. Very helpful notes and information throughout. The place was very clean and cozy and good for two people. The train tracks are nearby and when the train passes it can be loud for a few moments, otherwise our stay was really pleasant and peaceful. Thanks!

Micheal September 2016

Close enough to everything in town!

Perfect accommodations! Kara truly thought of everything. The location is great, close enough to everything in town, but far enough to be secluded. Will definitely return!

James February 2015

Continually surprised!

If I could move into Kara's Kottages, I would. This place has everything you could possibly need, and then some. We were continually surprised by what was available for us: fuzzy robes, agave nectar, scotch tape, decaf chai tea... everything you didn't know you needed for a relaxing girls weekend! Kara's instructions are clear and detailed, which made getting into our cottage simple and stress-free. I was worried that the shared walls and people coming in and out would be a distraction but it was as quiet as can be. Absolutely would recommend and hope to come back soon!

Renne & Joe March 2014

What a fabulous respite on a busy work trip.

Thank you! This place is lovely.. There needs to be more charming little places in the world like this. Your decor is warm and inviting and the breakfast options were perfect! What a fabulous respite on a busy work trip. I am already inventing excused to come back.. : )

Annie October 2013

What a lovely little jewel box..

What a lovely little jewel box.. So thoughtfully arranged!

Collene & Jack February 2013

Accommodations are amazing!

Thank you so much for the perfect get away. So comfortable and quiet.. Perfect place for me to study. Accommodations are amazing!

Karen January 2013

Most comfortable stay!

This was the most comfortable stay my husband and I ever had! This place was definitely thought out with much love and care and we truly appreciate your generosity and hospitality.

India & Gabe January 2013

Perfect way to spend our weekend together.

Today is our 20 year anniversary ~ Perfect way to spend our weekend together. We loved everything and will be back!

Sean & Heidi December 2012

Beautiful, comfortable and tastefully appointed..

Thank you for your very generous hospitality ~ what a sweet spot to land after the concert at martini's! What an amazing community you have here in Kalamazoo.. So great to see so many good friends & to waltz to the Waltz King & Kailin Yong : ). We are leaving some maple syrup for you, made at Earthwork Farm. You would be welcome to our place any time ~ considerable more rustic than here, but with it's own charm. You've created a beautiful, comfortable tastefully appointed (Bob's words) place here, and we thank you very much for offering it to us.

Susan & Bob November 2012

Your attention to detail is truly amazing..

Like a home away from home, your attention to detail is truly amazing. You helped make our weekend a memorable one which we will cherish for a long time. Will absolutely spread the word about your relaxing kottage.

Shiela & Brian November 2012

We didn't want to leave!

We LOVED the studio! It was so warm and cozy! You've truly thought of everything. It was a perfect spot for our fall getaway. Thanks so much and we hope to return very soon.. We didn't want to leave!

Kelly & Jim October 2012

This is above and beyond..

Words cannot explain how much we enjoyed staying here! This is above and beyond and I cannot wait to come visit again! Your beautiful place made my daughter have a wonderful birthday weekend and I cannot thank you enough! You can be sure that we will be spreading the word on this awesome home away from home! Thank you so much!!

Kathy & Alyssa October 2012

Yay for Kara and Kalamazoo!

We were thrilled to be able to stay here while we were in town for our nephew's wedding. It was very unexpected to find our little home away from home so well stocked and equipped. I wish my own home was so organized and complete. Everything I wanted and things I hadn't even thought of were here ~ milk, chai, gourmet mixes for scones, salad dressing.. Even a supply of videos and books by some of my favorite authors; Kingsolver, Moyers, etc.. Yay for Kara and Kalamazoo! Wish our home in N. California weren't so far away.. But, we hope we can come back.

Carol & Doc October 2012

Comfortable and inviting..

This was the perfect place to hide out after our wedding. Everything was so comfortable and inviting. We absolutely loved it! Thanks so very much. We will be back.

Elizabeth & Joshua September 2012

Cozy & Comfortable

This was the perfect place for us to rest after our wedding. Everything is cozy & comfortable! We're glad we found it and there's a pretty good chance we'll be back.

Hilary & Sam September 2012

Simply the Best!

This place is amazing, what you see is what you get. The photos accurately reflect the place. Clean, comfotable, beautiful. The owner is very nice. I am glad I found this Kottages because I am going to be traveling a few more times to Kalamazoo and as long as the place is available I will keep comming back.

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Luz August 2012

Thanks for the hosptitality!

The room was great and I loved the area!

Justin May 2012

Very comfortable and relaxing

Thank you for providing this wonderful room! We loved it here~finding the things we needed in every nook and cranny : ). It was very, very comfortable and relaxing, and we've already started telling the other "out of towners" that they should have stayed here. Best of luck to you and yours!

Matt & Rachel  May 2012

Wonderful Hospitality

We loved the studio! It was perfect for my husband & I and our little *sophie*. Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality. We will be back!!

Brandy & Dan February 2012

Comfy & Cozy!

Thank you for providing this beautiful place to stay! It was very comfy & cozy : ). We plan to come back and will definitely let people know about you. Good luck this summer!

Kindra & Mel  April 2012


Redwood Kottage

It was Immaculate!

The Kottage was absolutely beautiful! It was immaculate. The house had everything you could ever need. My husband and I wanted a night away for our anniversary. Kara’s Kottage was a great location for things to do in the area. We were actually really looking forward to getting back and just relaxing and watching Netflix! Our next visit to Kalamazoo, we will definitely be staying at Kara’s Kottage again! :)

Janae September 2018

Amazing Host!

Kara's place was amazing and she is an amazing host! We went for a girls trip and she had breakfast items for all of us! Her thoughtful gestures made the trip for us and the place was adorable!

Sarah August 2018

Great Place!

Great place would stay here a million times over. Cozy, close to downtown, super comfortable bed.

Mike June 2018

What A Place!

What a place! My wife, our friend and I all agree that this is one of the best AirBNB experiences we've had. The space is accurately depicted. If anything, it's more spacious in person than the photos will indicate. The couch was comfortable, there's plenty of seating for everyone without feeling cramped. The kitchen is a great size, plenty of room for the 3 or 5 of us to move around and talk without being in each other's ways. What really blew us away was the attention to detail. When travelling, there are a lot of little things you'd have in a cabinet that aren't worth packing, but may find you need. Q-tips, sunscreen, Tylenol, etc. Kara's Kottages take care of all this. Everything we'd have at home was provided to us. There are plenty of condiments and basic food items in the refrigerator (including Eggos and cinnamon rolls), and water/beer/wine as a little mini-bar in the fridge as well. As a Kalamazoo native, I can say the location is perfect. Just outside of downtown meant we were far enough that noise wasn't an issue, but it's an easy 15-20 minute walk anywhere you'd want to go, including Water Street and Harvey's. One unsung hero here: the front porch. We spent more time on the porch than inside. It's covered, has a fan, great lighting, and really comfortable chairs. I can't speak highly enough of this place!

Adam May 2018

The Beds Were so Comfy!

We had the greatest time in Kalamazoo staying at Kara's cottage. It was so nice - she had eggs and a ton of other breakfast staples to make a nice hot breakfast each morning. The beds were so comfy and so was the entire house. The couches were comfy and we felt "at home" right away. We loved this stay! Also, perfect location in Kzoo!!!

Brook February 2018

Everything You Need!

Great location, very comfy and with absolutely everything you need for a short to long stay.

Alexandre January 2018

Felt like Home Away From Home!

Staying at Karas Cottage, walking in was an immediate sense of comfort. The space was beautiful and peaceful. This felt like home away from home entirely. her hospitality was above and beyond. I would recommend a stay at Karas cottages to anyone visiting the Kalamazoo area. I would not choose anything other than Karas cottages for my next stay in the Kalamazoo area.

Alexis November 2017

Kottage was Impeccable.....

"Redwood" kottage was impeccable...clean, cozy, beautiful and well-stocked. Tons of stuff to do within walking distance and Kara was a fantastic hostess. After one visit I know I'll never stay anywhere else.

Margaret January 2017

Bed very comfy and Lots of Space!

Kara and her Kottage are incredible! She saved our trip. The hotel we checked in to after a very long day of travel was having trouble with the water. Our toddler was screaming for a bubble bath plus we were not going to stay someplace without acceptable water. I wrote Kara around 6:30pm and not only was she empathic, accommodating and kind, by later that night my daughter was in a bubble bath inside a beautiful tub with clean water in her gorgeous Kottage! When we walked in we were taken by the space, decor and energy. I am very sensitive to toxins and we were grateful to see even the laundry detergent she provides is free of dyes and fragrances! The kitchen and living room are stunning and comfortable. Everything was fully stocked. The kitchen is large and gorgeous. The front porch is beautiful, comfortable and serene! Any questions or need we had Kara responded immediately with a positive attitude and true care to help. The parking provided was wonderful! The washer dryer is top of the line! The bed very comfy and lots of space in the front entry way and closet and dresser to organize the large amount of luggage we had. I can't imagine a better, more comfortable, more affordable, large, gorgeous space in Kalamazoo! The fact Kara is so kind and awesome is a reflection of what a great home she provides! Thank you Kara for being our Kalamazoo Angel!

Joseph And Leslie August 2017

Stocked Kitchen!

Very happy with the cottage! Kara truly thought of everything....all the way down to a sound machine next to the bed, beautiful linens, comfy cozy blankets, a fully stocked kitchen with everything you could ever need. The cottage was beautifully decorated, impeccably clean, and smelled just like walking into a spa. Loved our time here.

Gina April 2016

Kara had Quick Responses!

Great cottage, it was very clean, easy to find, was very well outfitted with everything we needed. Kara had quick responses and accurate instructions. Would definitely stay again!

Katie August 2016

Communication was Excellent!

Kara's cottage is fantastic - it was well equipped with everything we needed for our stay, cosy and comfortable. The house is a short walk from downtown and from the university. Communication was excellent and Kara's instructions were clear and easy to follow. We had a great time, thank you very much!

Luke May 2015


Acorn Kottage

 

One of the Best....

Kara’s place looks amazing in photos, and it was even better in person. She has clearly put a lot of thought and effort into making a cozy space for guests. I have stayed at many great AirBnBs across the country, and Kara’s place is one of the best. Highly recommend!

Claire September 2018

Highly Recommend!

I highly recommend Kara's Cottages for anyone staying in the Kalamazoo area. My wife and I stayed in the Acorn cottage the weekend following the 4th of July and we had a fantastic stay. We loved how the space in the cottage is utilized, and all the amenities. You'll find everything you need (and lots more) when staying at this cottage. Thanks Kara for a wonderful experience at the Acorn cottage.

Eric July 2018

Beautifully Decorated! 

We've stayed at a different Kottage, and both have been beautifully decorated and appointed. Kara makes them feel like a home away from home (well, nicer, as I don't have her talent for accessorizing). The Kottage had everything one could possibly need (down to tupperware and a blender). The sectional was super comfortable and we didn't want to leave it. Check in was super easy with a keypad lock. It wasn't an issue for us, but this Kottage does have older (read steep) stairs, but they are carpeted and quiet. 5 minute walk to Kalamazoo College and free parking behind the house.

Sally April 2018

Accommodated my Late Check- In!

It was a delight to stay here. Kara's Kottage was clean and decorated very tastefully. She had thoughtfully provided common toiletries/bathroom accoutrement and I appreciated that she used a lot of natural scents and imagery in her toiletries and decorating. Kara accommodated my late check-in time of what I thought would be midnight but ended up being 4 am. She was fairly responsive and did grant me a late checkout time when I asked her very last minutedly. Her place is very comfortable for 2 people (I was there alone), but I'd say it's small for 3 adults. The neighborhood is quiet and fairly safe.

Ambika May 2017

Walking Distance to the Train Station!

This place was cute, clean, and comfy and was perfect for our needs. It was also in a great location-- walking distance to the train station and to Kalamazoo College. Kara also was very quick to respond when I had a question, which I appreciated very much.

Suzanna February 2017

The Kottage was Clean!

Everything about our stay was perfect. The cottage was clean, cute, and had everything we could have ever needed. The breakfast options were the cherry on top - they provided everything you'd need to make an awesome breakfast. Location was also great, just a shirt drive downtown to all the best breweries. It was definitely an awesome stay.

Nikki December 2016

Kara's Kottage was the Perfect Spot!

We stayed in the newly created Acorn Kottage and it was exactly what we needed. We celebrated our 2nd anniversary and I wanted something off the beaten path (i.e. not a hotel). Kara's Kottages was the perfect spot. Located less than a mile from downtown Kalamazoo, it was a perfect location for our needs. We toured Bell's breweries and walked around downtown, ate local fare, and generally enjoyed each other's company. Was a great little getaway and I would absolutely book with Kara again.

CJ November 2016

Major Attention to Detail.....

Kara's Kottage was amazing! Immediately upon arrival I was blown away by how comfortable and cozy this place was. It is the best use of space I have ever seen in an apartment. Major attention to detail was paid when decorating this fabulous space. Everything I could have needed was available at Kara's place. It was clean, comfortable, and welcoming. If I ever venture to Kalamazoo again I would most definitely love to stay here!

Amanda November 2016

Beautifully Decorated Space!

Acorn Kottage was a beautifully decorated space. The unit is small, although the layout makes it feel cozy, not cramped. The bed and linens were very comfortable and the breakfast staples were a nice touch. Kara was great at communicating throughout the stay

Jacqueline September 2016


Douglas Fir Kottage

Exceeds Expectation or Imagination!

kara's lovely place far exceeds expectation or imagination. The space was spotless, peaceful and comfortable. The bed and the bathroom, especially the soaking-friendly spacious tub under skylight, are divine. This airbnb is situated in a walking-friendly neighborhood.

Lotte September 2018

Super Cute!

This place is super cute. My wife fell in love with the clawfoot soaker tub. The bed was very comfortable.

Stefan July 2018

Relaxing Getaway!

My husband and I stayed at the Douglas Fir cottage the night before and after our wedding, and found it to be the perfect cozy and relaxing getaway! Everything was so clean, and exactly as described, and the neighborhood was very quiet. Everything from getting into the unit to finding anything we might need (towels, snacks, water glasses) was so easy. We highly recommend staying here!

Kelsey May 2018

Everything a Business Traveler Would Need!

Very cozy and comfortable with abundance of amenities. Cold beer waiting in fridge is always appreciated. Great place to relax and catch up on work. Has everything a business traveler would need. Bathroom and bedroom among the best you will find.

Rob October 2017

Upstairs Hideaway is Amazing!

This little upstairs hideaway is amazing. Absolutely beautiful views out of the windows and skylights, a luxurious bathroom, and a well stocked coffee cart made my trip incredibly enjoyable! A perfect place to get away from it all but still be right near downtown. I could not be happier with my stay.

Anna August 2017

Very Cool Space!

Very cool space with a great feel and look. Beautiful pieces and cool touches (sun window in bedroom, awesome bath tub, etc.) Kara was very hospitable and even helped put up a baby gate for us to help with our toddler. I would definitely stay here again for my next visit to Kalamazoo.

Jose June 2017

Absolutely Amazing!

My husband and I were supposed to head to Savannah, but due to hurricane Matthew, we had a change of plans. We saw Kara's Kottages online and they are amazing! We stayed in the Douglas Fir Kottage which happens to be above Kara's personal home. We were afraid it may be a bit awkward, but it was just the opposite! It was the best home away from home that you could ever ask to stay. The bathroom is my dream bathroom!! The living room area is comfortable and the bed was super comfortable! The location is pretty centrally located, you're close to all the great bars and pubs and shops. We loved it! We highly recommend it to any couples heading to the Kalamazoo area!

Katie October 2016

Skylight and Ambiance!

We stayed overnight in the Douglas Fir apartment, which is the wonderfully renovated upstairs to Kara's home. Loved the decor, colors, window treatments, bedding, shower, and the skylight above the cozy bed. We did hear Kara's teakettle whistling briefly early Friday morning (not loud enough to wake us up), and I mention that only because other than that we had no contact with Kara and the upstairs is VERY quiet. No shared kitchen in this one and very steep and not wide stairs - so you need to be nimble re: luggage. Granola bars for b'fast only, so I think this unit of hers (which was the only one available when we booked) seemed a bit pricey vs. the rest. I would stay here again just for the skylight and ambiance. We also appreciated the ease of checking in and out (touch keypad on door for entry, and the privacy.

Gregg May 2016

Lovely Spa Like Bathroom!

This was my second visit to Kara's Douglas Fir Kottage. Great communication with Kara, easy and convenient parking and clear arrival instructions. There are restaurant options only a couple blocks away. Most importantly, as a solo female business traveler I feel very safe staying here. I feel right at home in this cozy space, pampered in the lovely spa like bathroom and inspired by the beautiful décor! I am looking forward to visiting again! Thank you Ms. Kara!!

Leigh March 2016

Would Certainly Recommend!

We really liked the fact you have an entrance that takes you almost right in to your space. It felt like we had the place all to ourselves, the house was very quiet. The neighborhood was quiet as well, rarely did we see anyone else on the street. The decor and feel of the space was just as nice as the pictures show. Everything felt high quality, and you could tell a lot of thought had went into the design. We only needed a comfortable place to sleep after work, and this greatly exceeded our requirements! Kara is a great, friendly host. We bumped into her near the end of our stay, and she was only concerned with improving our stay. I would certainly recommend her if you need somewhere to stay in the area.

Chris August 2015

Absolutely Beautiful Place.

Absolutely beautiful place. You have a skylight above the bed and above the tub. There's candles to light next to the tub, and a sound machine by the bed. She even had some food provided, which is not something I usually see. She also had really great natural bathing products in the bathroom. Very nice woman. I didn't check my email for my check in instructions so I called her, she was very nice to get me in the place, and if I didn't receive the email, to give her a call for further help. Would definitely stay again.

Sarah June 2015

Quiet Residential Neighborhood!

Kara is an exemplar of hospitality -- she was attentive, responsive, considerate and accommodating. Kara's Kottage was the perfect spot for our family of three, with virtually everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The beautiful bedroom and bathroom allowed us to bask in the sun by day and gaze at the stars by night. The family room with the Netflix set-up allowed us to kick back each evening, and the coffee allowed us to kick-start each morning. The home is situated in a quiet residential neighborhood and yet it was an extremely short drive away from downtown Kalamazoo. It's also fairly close to all of the major family attractions in the Kalamazoo-Portage area. In short, our family will definitely like to stay here again for our next visit to Kalamazoo.

J.P. April 2015

Delightful Heaven of Cozy Comfrot!

Kara's Douglas Fir "Kottage" is a delightful haven of cozy comfort and artistic elegance. I snuggled into the charming fireplace warmed living room and enjoyed the wifi, Netflix, and a Chai tea Keurig. The luxurious bath and heavenly bed were both thoroughly enjoyed under moonlit snowy skylights and flickering candlelight. A perfect Airbnb experience!

Leigh March 2015

Loved the Privacy!

This is a super nice place to stay. The images really don't do it justice--it appears to have been professionally decorated or Kara has a lot of talent in this area and it was done with quality in mind. The skylights in the bedroom and bathroom were especially nice. We loved the privacy of the space with three rooms in the suite there was plenty of space. Everything was clean and neat. The house and neighborhood was quiet (although it was Fourth of July eve and fireworks were going off around the area) and it felt very safe. We were on bikes, riding in from South Haven to Kalamazoo and Kara provided the garage for safe storage. We appreciated the coffee in the morning. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Roberta July 2014

Warm and Welcoming...

Kara is super friendly, warm and welcoming, and we'll definitely be back for another stay. Our stay at the Kottage was the perfect start to our long weekend roadtrip - her instructions were clear, easy to follow and timely, and made our late night arrival to Kalamazoo completely hassle-free. Better yet were the accommodations themselves - a gorgeous, spotless and serene space with every amenity you could possibly need provided. My friends and I agreed - when we settle down and buy our own homes, we're calling Kara for decorating advice! :)  

Madhavi May 2014

Delighful Host....

Staying at one of Kara's Kottages is like revisiting a customized sanctuary. They are not only decorated with a designer's eye, but are mindfully stocked with anything you think you may have forgotten and then some. I have stayed at all of Kara's Kottages. In this particular private room (suite), there are teacups that fit your hand, bath salts for a relaxing soak, skylights that bring your mind back into focus and a very delightful host, should you happen to bump into her. I highy recommend all of Kara's accommodations.

Carol March 2014