Driftwood Kottage


The second floor apartment is great. The place is immaculate and there are thoughtful touches all through the flat. Parking is off street and a breeze, and it is right next to Kalamazoo College. We felt safe and secure and it was quiet and peaceful in the evenings. A gem of a place! We plan to return soon.

Thor, AirBnB, August 2019

My husband , me, and another family member recently stayed in the Driftwood for a few days getaway. It was very cozy and extremely clean. It felt like home away from home. Kara did not miss anything as far as amenities in the bathroom or kitchen. The rooms were comfortable and very easy to relax. I prefer not to stay in hotels, and I also like the flexibility of breakfast when we get up and not a designated time, we are early risers and like to make the most of our day without the restrictions of a sit down breakfast. The railroad only went by once and not during inappropriate hours. It was a great location from the places we wanted to travel to and will definitely consider Kara's Kottages for future stays!

M.P., Yelp, August 2019

My son, husband and I recently stayed at Kara’s Kottage. We haven’t ever rented a house/ room for a vacation. So, we weren’t sure what to expect. After staying at Kara’s Kottage the bar has been set high. We had a great experience! When we arrived we saw the beautiful outdoor deck area which had tables, chairs a grill and the cutest outdoor lights great for outdoor visiting. Once we got settled into our room we just couldn’t stop talking about how this was such a great find and how homey it felt. From the adorable home decor, the soft sheets, the aromatherapy shower gel, the streaming services to the ice cold beer glasses in the freezer. There wasn’t anything that she left out. We enjoyed our beverages out of the deck with the lights were a perfect end to our trip. Highly recommend this place it will not disappoint! Kara has thought of everything to make this an awesome experience!

Alana, Hotels.com, July 2019

Kara was a wonderful host and her place was fantastic! Communication was quick and friendly, and the check in process was automated and simple. The house was sparkling clean and a lot of nice touches and extra amenities were included, including breakfast items! The location was perfect...just on the outskirts of downtown away from the traffic, but everything was still walkable. We loved our stay and can’t recommend this place highly enough!

Jeffrey, AirBnB, June 2019

Kara’s Kottage was such a warm and inviting stay! We loved how relaxing and peaceful our stay was. The complementary breakfast items were amazing! Check-in was easy and communication with Kara was quick and authentic. We will definitely stay with Kara again.

Shaelee, AirBnB, February 2019

This place was fantastic. So much so that I don't ever want to stay anywhere else in Kalamazoo. Super clean, plenty of amenities, close to everything and water pressure to die for. :)

Raleigh, Google, February 2019

It is the attention to detail and thoughtful touches that truly set apart great Airbnb homes from just "good" ones, and Kara's Kottages are truly great. Kara's attention to detail and generous amenities make this place a relaxing oasis of a retreat. Even the gratuitous placement of hooks around the place was also an unexpected convenience!

Benjamin, AirBnB, September 2018

One of the best hosts and places we’ve stayed in! She went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable! I would highly recommend Kara’s place for anyone staying around Kalamazoo...excellent host!

Andrew, AirBnB, July 2018

This is a perfect location for anyone wanting to explore Kalamazoo - including its incredible craft brew scene!! Kara’s loft is amazing - very clean, and the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in at an Airbnb.

Scott, AirBnB, July 2018

Kara really puts extra special touches into your stay - from helpful notes and directions around the house, to providing almost everything you might need - we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Kalamazoo, and a lot of that is thanks to having such a great place to stay! The space is so comfortable and was perfect for a weekend away to really see all that downtown has to offer.

Kristina, AirBnB, May 2018

Kara’s Kottages are amazing. Kara is the epitome of hospitable. Everything we didn’t know we needed was provided. She really thought of everything. We’d stay there again in a heartbeat!

Nicki, AirBnB, March 2018

We love staying at Kara's Kottages! She has a unique business and does it vey well. Kara Is also a delight to speak with, very accommodating and helpful. 

Kristin, Bedandbreakfast.com, March 2018

Kara has the gift of hospitality. Her kottages are each unique and all beautiful. Each is impeccably decorated and imaginatively appointed with all of the comforts of home. We particularly loved the location as our daughter, a freshman at Kalamazoo College was able to easily walk across campus to our front door. Also of particular note is Kara's choice of bedding, European and supremely comfortable!

Caroline, AirBnB, February 2018

Stayed for 6 days and really loved it. We invited some people to the apartment, first our son and daughter inlaw on their wedding night and they were pretty happy with their bridal suite. We then invited friends to visit us in the living room and had a great time. The needs of guests are well taken care of in terms of bathroom supplies and kitchen stock. We would surely like to stay here again in our future visits.

Anna, VRBO, December 2017

Walking distance to K College we stayed here because our son plays basketball for K and we wanted something close for the games. It was better than we anticipated. Clean and beautifully decorated with lots of little extras from coffee and breakfast items in the cupboard to a well appointed bathroom and nice linens. We were able to relax, walk to the basketball arena and also get downtown for shopping, holiday lights and a great dinner out. Also our son was able to walk over between games and practices and just relax with us. We will be back!!

Angela, AirBnB, November 2017

Abundance of amenities, charm, decor. Kara has curated a gem. Every detail considered. Thoughtfulness on display everywhere. Superbly clean. Very well appointed. Stocked with all you need and more. Would rate 10 stars if possible.

Shawn, AirBnB, August 2017

My friend and I met here for a girls trip and Kara's Kottage was the perfect homebase for us. Very clean, comfortable beds, and we appreciated the stocked kitchen with granola and other breakfast fixings! Very easy check-in and parking was no problem. Thanks for the warm welcome and the perfect spot for out KZoo getaway!

Lily, AirBnB, May 2017

Kara was super responsive and accommodating. The place itself was wonderful, and we are hoping to go back in the summer and make use of the great outdoor space. Even in the dead of winter, we were able to walk to everything. We also all commented on how nicely the place was decorated, and we loved the availability of the breakfast items! Highly recommended!

Chris, AirBnB, March 2017


 

 

TripAdvisor

 


Birch Bark Kottage

 Kara's house is beautifully and comfortably adorned. combined with the included breakfast options which were VAST including, eggs, sausage, ready bake cinnamon rolls, cereals and much more. the outdoor space is fantastic! just keep in mind the one bathroom isn't attached to both bedrooms. thanks for a fantastic stay, I'll be back!!

Zach, VRBO, October 2019

Kara's place was excellent! A great combination of cleanliness and great home styling. Further, quick and clear communication with detailed home instructions. Location is exactly as described. We would certainly recommend Kara's place in Kalamazoo to anyone.

Kevin, AirBnB, September 2019

We will never stay in a hotel again, super comfortable, nicely decorated, great outdoor space, tons of little amenities that you would never get in a hotel. Loved it!

Karen, AirBnB, August 2019

Our stay at the Birch Bark Cottage was AMAZING! I will figure out how to leave a 5 star review. The Birch Bark Kottage is a 2 bedroom, full kitchen, separate dining room, separate living room and spacious bathroom. Although there were only 2 of us in the Kottage, we had family in the area where we were able to host them in the Kottage and had everything we needed as if I was in my own home. There is also a great deck with nice chairs and fireplace and table and chairs and gas grill as well.
Tastefully decorated and CLEAN. We totally utilized nearly every, pot, pan, plate, bowl,cup and utensil. We cooked full meals and even made cupcakes. Plenty of free parking. We will definitely be back to visit our relatives in the Kalamazoo area and will be sure to book way in advance to ensure that we get to stay at the Birch Bark Kottage. You will not be disappointed. By the way there are 2 more kottages within the same building.

Cecily, TripAdvisor, August 2019

Highly recommend Kara’s Kottages. Extremely clean, very warm and welcoming space! Well stocked on amenities and coffee/breakfast foods. Love the location of the Birch Bark cottage and it being so close to WMU campus for visiting our daughter! Will definitely stay again!

Jen, AirBnB, April 2019

Kara’s is the best! I’ve been in a lot of Airbnb’s all over the world, and Kara’s ranks near the top in every aspect. Beds are comfy, amenities are awesome, and the location is perfect. There is a train track outside, but I wasn’t bothered by the infrequent trains. Kara is very quick to respond in app. We had everything we needed! Don’t hesitate to book. I look forward to my next stay at Kara’s.

Betty, AirBnB, January 2019

I am something of a hotel snob and not easy to please. For a Kalamazoo meet-up with a buddy, I was not pleased at hotel options and decided to expand my search. I am so glad I did.

The photos of the Birch Bark cottage were super-cute and I was almost afraid "nothing could be this good." But the cottage was that good. Cozy when you want together time, and spacious when you wanted alone time, a perfect fit for what I wanted my weekend to be. The unit is well-maintained and was spotlessly clean, and the owner provides just about every little incidental item you could want. Check-in was a snap, just follow the owner instructions on an earlier email and you're in with a code. Kara was also very friendly and helpful before my purchase, answering some questions I had.

The beds and bedding were quality, the couch comfortable, the dining-room table perfect for board games (we brought our Scrabble set, but other games were provided on-site). The bathroom is spacious and covered everything you want in there, including a quality shower. Parking was adjacent to the property and the shortest walk you'll ever have from car to unit.

If you're staying in, the streaming-loaded TV (free of charge) made for a nice option. There's a full kitchen if you need it, and reasonably-priced minibar options in the fridge if you don't want to fetch your own stuff (we did both). The ambient-noise machine was such a godsend in my bedroom (I am not the greatest sleeper) that I plan to buy one for myself! If you're going out, you have all of Kalamazoo at your whim.

The next time I plan to be in this area, one of Kara's properties will be my first search.

Scott, TripAdvisor, November 2018

This was everything we look for (but rarely find) in an Airbnb: luxurious, spacious, effortless, affordable. I don’t know who in their right mind would stay at a hotel when they could enjoy a place with so much more room and so many thoughtful touches. Perfect for a couple with kids (like us) who make sharing a hotel room a nightmare. Beautiful outdoor space, lovely subtle lighting that made it homey and warm, chic decorating throughout that made it feel like a vacation instead of a pit stop. We will stay here any time we’re in Kalamazoo!

Casey, AirBnB, September 2018

Very pleasant surprise...full kitchen PACKED with everything you need. Same in the bathroom...bathrobes, q-tips, shampoo, etc. "Junk drawer" stocked with everything from a pair of scissors to twist-ties, it's like being at home. The TV is much larger than typical hotel sets, and so is the family room. Only downside is if you have issues after hours, since there is no on-site maintenance. This was a non-issue for us. Bottom line...why would you stay at a hotel when you can have this? Much more private and really feels like being at home.

Michael, Hotels.com, August 2018

We enjoyed our stay. It was situated close to grocery store, restaurants (some within walking distance), and not too far off main highway. It had a spacious bathroom with plenty of towels, a well-stocked refrigerator, lots of dishes, glasses and pots/pans. Since we had flown in for a family reunion, we did not have beach towels or a cooler with us. We found those items to use and packed a picnic lunch to take along one day. Kara has an assistant who was there daily keeping everything clean. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Sally, VRBO, August 2018

This was my first time staying at a property other than a hotel and I was very impressed. The whole unit was very clean and up to date. Kara was very accommodating. Even though we couldn’t check in early, we were able to leave our car on the property and go enjoy the convention. We were able to also leave the car for a couple of hours after we had checked out to enjoy the end of the convention. We also were able to save on breakfast by enjoying the breakfast items that were available to guests. The location was even great. The convention was being held at the Radisson and it was only a 20 minute walk away. I would definitely consider Kara’s Kottages for a stay the next time we are in Kalamazoo.

Nicole, Expedia, July 2018

Kara is the perfect hostess. She's thought of everything one could possibly need for a home away from home stay. The beds are comfy cozy and the linens are fresh and crisp. You can have coffee from freshly ground beans without leaving the house and have a lazy morning. The home is warmly appointed and full of interesting features. We'd stay again!!

Maria, VRBO, July 2017

 

 

TripAdvisor

 


Pine Cone Kottage

Kara goes above and beyond to make her guests feel welcome and at home. Our reservation was a last minute decision but Kara’s response made it seems as if it had been planned. She met us at the cottage, gave us dining recommendation that was an easy walk, and made sure we had breakfast preparations. The cottage is clean, comfortable, and provided for guests’ every need. If we are in the area again we will definitely stay at Kara’s.

Janet, AirBnB, October 2019

As WMU alumni, my college roommates and I always stay at Kara's Kottages when we return to Kalamazoo. We are never disappointed! Our stays are 100% perfect in every possible way:

- Warm, effective communication with Kara
- Smooth check-in/out
- Ample parking
- Convenient locations
- Everything we need, well-appointed
- Breakfast food is even provided!
- So fabulously decorated, you want to live in her units

Thank you, Kara! We will be back (especially since one of my roommate's daughters is now attending WMU!) and highly recommend others stay here as well.

Renee, Yelp, August 2019

Kara has so many thoughtful and hospitable details in the room. It really added a personal a personal touch to our stay!

Jim, AirBnB, July 2019

First off- Kara is wonderful! It was a real pleasure staying at her house. My husband and I and 2 dogs stayed at the Pine Cone- which is a studio apartment. The apartment was decorated very tastefully. There was breakfast food in the cabinets, freezer and refrigerator (!), coffee for the french press was provided. The apartment was very clean, and so thoughtfully stocked. Kara thought of everything! It was like being at home- which is a wonderful thing. Also- for the location on W. Main St- right next door there is a huge park to walk the dogs- very handy. We have family in the Kalamazoo area, and we plan on staying at Kara's Kottages again, and again.

Dawn, TripAdvisor, May 2019

My husband and I had a great time staying at this little cottage while we were in Kalamazoo for work! It was super cozy, very clean and had tons of extra accommodations you don’t always get at other places. We will definitely stay again next time we’re in the area!!

Beth, AirBnB, May 2019

Kara's Kottages are the very best accomodations available in Kalamazoo! Her sense of style and hospitality welcome you to a home away from home: elegant, luxurious and yet completely easy and liveable. I can't recommend them highly enough!

Caroline, AirBnB, April 2019

Kara’s space is clean, eco conscious, and incredibly cozy. The small, comfortable apartment is flooded with amazing amenities and beautiful details. Kara was a great host and made herself readily available during our stay. We look forward to staying again if we find ourselves back in Kalamazoo!

Tiffany, AirBnB, March 2019

This AirBnB was one of the best ones I've ever stayed in! There were so many thoughtful touches/amenities, an electric fireplace, and even a carport. The space was even more stylish than it appears in the pictures, and the bed was very comfy. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Rachel, AirBnB, January 2019

Kara’s place was so cute and cozy! We loved everything about our stay. She had great eco-friendly amenities, and all necessary amenities one could need. We will definitely be back in warmer weather to enjoy the lovely outdoor area. Her fridge was stocked with breakfast goodies: cinnamon rolls, eggs, creamer, etc. If you are a mug person, she had the cutest mugs, which just made my stay. What a great experience. Also- the location is great, about 1 mile or so from the downtown area. Highly recommended!

Amanda, AirBnB, December 2018

Kara was quick to respond and accommodate our last minute stay in Kalamazoo. (Along with our dog) We feel like we just spent the night at a good friend’s well stocked, immaculate suite. The amenities were beyond expectations and the bed and linens were a dream to sleep on. Stay here, whether on a quick stopover or as an in-town romantic get-away. You won’t be disappointed!

Jennifer, AirBnB, September 2018

Kara's Kottage was beautiful and perfect for our weekend away.

Mary-Ann, Hotels.com, August 2018

This is the best air b n b we've ever stayed at. The grounds are idyllic and the cottage was so comfortable and welcoming in every way. We enjoyed grilling steaks for dinner on the magically lit, beautifully landscaped patio, and retreating to the cool (its monstrously humid hot weather right now) comfort of the ambiently lit cottage. The bed = best bed away from home ever. Kara is a gifted host. You are going to be so happy you stayed here!!

Kelly, AirBnB, August 2018

Just fabulous!! Kara’s Kottages are so nicely maintained with amazing amenities. Everything I needed was available. Highly recommend!

Christine, AirBnB, March 2018

This is a great place to stay- perfect for a couple & a dog! Very easy to get to right in the heart of Kalamazoo. Super cozy studio space with all of the amenities to stay warm & cozy. A fully stocked pantry with breakfast items & some snacks was a great touch. Definitely would recommend!

Mike, AirBnB, January 2018

Perfect, everything was just perfect about our stay here. Clean, cozy, thoughtful touches and amenities, masterfully decorated, quality linens, clear communication, luxurious treatment. Kara knows exactly what she's doing! Book here and you won't regret it!

Maile, AirBnB, November 2017

This is by far the best kept place I’ve stayed in..it was like being in my own bedroom. Kara should be really proud to have her name on this place.

Carlos, Expedia, November 2017

Kara's Kottages are a crowning jewel in the Kalamazoo community. While my stay in the "Pine Cone" cottage was short, it's was better than any commercial hotel stay I've ever experienced! The room was perfect, the location was desirable, and Kara, herself, was nothing less than a perfect host. The bureaucratic process accompanied with commercial hotel check-ins was completely eliminated at Kara's. It was simple, it was expedient, and it was great in all aspects. The room was absolutely adorable, and the complimentary breakfast has no challengers in the market today! We will definitely be back!

Monte, AirBnB, August 2017

Wonderful little cottage, nice change of place from a McHotel!

Christian, Hotels.com, May 2017

This place has it all. Would definitely recommend to anyone! The breakfast choices were an added bonus. So cozy and accommodating. Kara is a great hostess and communicates well. Can't wait to come back!

Dolly, AirBnB, March 2017

 

 

TripAdvisor

 


Redwood Kottage

Absolutely, hands down the best place I have ever stayed. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Redwood Kottage and it was simply amazing. The place was so cozy and beautifully decorated. It felt like a home away from home. We were able to spend the night in. cook our own dinner in the fully equipped kitchen and then curl up on the couch in front of the fireplace and watch tv. I wish I could have stayed longer. The kottages are stocked with anything you could ever need, band aids, shampoo, dishes, breakfast foods. Simply amazing. The other kottages were booked as well the night we stayed there and we didn't hear anything from the other guests. It is truly your own piece of heaven for the night and we will definitely stay again any time we need a place in Kalamazoo!

Rosemarie, AirBnB, September 2019

Kara's place was wonderful! My pup and I very much enjoyed our stay. It was very comfortable, easy to get in and out of, nice and quiet, and the dog enjoyed all of the new smells of the garden surrounding the apartment/house. The inside was freshly renovated and very nicely prepped for visitors.

Katherine, AirBnB, July 2019

This place is so great and clean. My girlfriend & I stayed here and were HIGHLY impressed at the fact she thought about every single detail in the place. It was well worth the money, and has some very calm peaceful vibes here!

RJ, AirBnB, February 2019

Amazing place to stay. The pictures don’t do it justice.

Lauren, AirBnB, January 2019

I highly recommend staying at Kara’s Cottages. This was the cutest apartment I’ve ever seen and immediately felt like a home away from home upon walking in the door. The decor was earth toned and immaculate and the faux fireplace added great ambiance as well. Kara was prompt at communication. If I’m ever in Kalamazoo again, this will be where I stay again, hands down!

Brandy, AirBnB, December 2018

The Redwood is a beautiful, warm and welcoming home away from home. I arrived in the evening, after a long day of yoga teacher training, to a peaceful oasis- with soft inviting salt lamps and holiday lights flickering. Kara has created an amazing atmosphere- a perfect place to rest and re-energize. Adding to the appeal, elegance and ease of the space are the cozy couch, clawfoot bathtub, stocked + spacious kitchen and the lovely master bedroom with reading nook and deliciously comfortable bed! Thank you for making Kalamazoo such a magic and memorable stay.

Emma-Louise, AirBnB, December 2018

We absolutely loved this Airbnb! Cozy and stylish with thoughtful touches throughout that really made our group feel comfortable and at home. Also we enjoyed being in a great location close enough to hop a cheap Lyft or Uber to eat or enjoy one of Kalamazoo’s many breweries. If you’re looking for a great place to relax with lots of amenities and an easy check in and check out process you have found the right spot! Thank you, Kara!

Amanda, AirBnB, November 2018

The Kottage was absolutely beautiful! It was immaculate. The house had everything you could ever need. My husband and I wanted a night away for our anniversary. Kara’s Kottage was a great location for things to do in the area. We were actually really looking forward to getting back and just relaxing and watching Netflix! Our next visit to Kalamazoo, we will definitely be staying at Kara’s Kottage again! :)

Janae, AirBnB, September 2018

We stayed in the Redwood and could not have asked for better accommodations. Every detail was so thoughtful, beautiful, and welcoming. Stayed for K College graduation ~ wish we had a reason to return!

Anonymous, Bedandbreakfast.com, June 2017

Kara is amazing and the kottage is comfortable, fully stocked, and clean! Couldn't ask for a better place to lay our heads and hang out between shows at Bells!

 Laura, Expedia, June 2017

We stayed at this newer of Kara's Kottages in March. It's a short walk to K College, and we will stay here again when visiting our daughter. SO much nicer and roomier than a hotel of the same price. A large living room, with a sectional and chairs and an electric fireplace and tv. BIG kitchen, with full size fridge, stove, dishwasher, and kitchen table. Cute bathroom, and comfy bed in the bedroom. Little touches add to the charm -- a stocked fridge for breakfast, even beer mugs in the freezer for a chilled beer. If you are staying longer, there is a full washer and drier. Kara was super easy and flexible to work with.

Mark, TripAdvisor, March 2017

 

 

TripAdvisor

 


Acorn Kottage

This is the most comfortable and thoughtful Airbnb I have ever experienced. I travel for work and am not easily impressed. Everything you need plus more is available and obvious. Most importantly the couch and bed are super comfy and it was very relaxing. I booked this at 5pm on a weeknight and within a minute it was ready for check in.

John, AirBnB, October 2019

The apartment is beautiful and clean. Close to everything Kalamazoo has to offer, definitely recommend staying at Kara's!

Anne, AirBnB, August 2019

Kara's Kottages are always top notch in regards to honestly being "the whole package"! Everything is warm and inviting. Love the decor and the food/drink amenities. This place is a class act.

Ashley, AirBnB, August 2019

I don't normally write reviews, but I had such a great experience I feel compelled. Not only was the unit I stayed in laid out beautifully, Kara was very helpful, kind and gracious. I could see myself living where I had the pleasure of staying for a night. Will be back, and highly recommend.

Paul, Google, April 2019

This place is a gem! The Airbnb was so inviting and had everything you could wish for. Breakfast was provided and I could not believe how much there was. The Airbnb was in walking distance to downtown and Kalamazoo college.

Marcie, AirBnB, April 2019 

Staying at a Kara's Kottages property before embarking on a larger adventure has become a tradition for us! We always wake up refreshed and ready to take on the next leg of our journey ☺️

Meg, AirBnB, February 2019

Better, by a lot, than a luxury hotel. And I’m not kidding. The first impression you’ll have is warmth. The decor, the lighting. They’re modern and sophisticated, and inviting. Little details abound. Little decorations. Throw pillows. Rugs. You’ll find those things you like to look at. Beyond that, Kara provides high quality amenities. Keratin shampoo? Personal products? I’ve been to the Four Seasons and you won’t get those things there. Hungry? There’s food - real food - in the fridge. Beer? Wine? There. Great instructions. Great host. It’s an exceptional place to stay and worth every cent. Don’t hesitate.

Matt, AirBnB, December 2018

I loved this place. So cozy and extremely clean. There are so many little details that you can tell that Kara takes great pride in her rentals. I would definitely stay here again.

Sharon, AirBnB, November 2018

I spent 2 nights at the Acorn Kottage. The space is decorated adorably and it was very clean. The area was very quiet & parking was available right outside the door. I am looking forward to staying here again!

Kelsey, AirBnB, September 2018

Kara’s place looks amazing in photos, and it was even better in person. She has clearly put a lot of thought and effort into making a cozy space for guests. I have stayed at many great AirBnBs across the country, and Kara’s place is one of the best. Highly recommend!

Claire, AirBnB, September 2018

Kara was outstanding, the place was cozy and walking distance to downtown. It had all the amenities I needed while traveling on business. I look forward to staying here again!

Jonathan, AirBnB, January 2018

This is the second time I've stayed in one of Kara's cottages and I feel like I can say that you can book any of her units and you'll be thrilled. As with my first experience - lovely, clean, thoughtful, bountiful amenities, the breakfast options are a wonderful extra touch, super cozy, plush linens. Gosh I could go on forever. Love Kara's Kottages!

Maile, AirBnB, December 2017

Our stay was wonderful and we appreciated the very lived in feel, especially since the apartment was small. Those extra little well-placed touches and decorations made things feel cozy rather than cramped. It was so nice to have a freshly stocked fridge with breakfast food so we didn't have to grocery shop.

Lili, AirBnB, November 2017

Kara's place is the perfect place for a couple to enjoy downtown Kalamazoo! It's an easy walk down, set in a beautiful historic Kalamazoo neighborhood. Check in was easy & Kara accommodated us with a late check out. The place is very clean & super cute. Kara really has thought of everything. She includes the stuff for a basic breakfast, morning coffee, & all the bathroom essentials. This is the most well-equipped Airbnb we have ever stayed in! Thanks for the perfect place to stay!

Paul, AirBnB, November 2017

My husband and I stayed in the Acorn Cottage for a quick (but much-needed) weekend getaway in September. We attended WMU and Kalamazoo is where we lived when we got married and started our adult lives together. We have since moved far away, but needed a relaxing weekend and some nostalgia. We really didn't want to stay in a cold and impersonal hotel and these cottages were perfect. So quaint, cute, sweet, and comfy. Absolutely loved it and would recommend it to anyone else hoping for a cozy retreat!

-Anonymous, Bedandbreakfast.com, October 2017

LOVED THIS PLACE SO MUCH, and my bf and I want to come back to Michigan just for one of Kara's kottages! Just know that this place is small going in! So it's perfect for 1 person or a couple looking for a romantic, quaint space that is perfect for staying in. You won't be disappointed! It's as lovely as it sounds and the pictures don't do it justice :)

Samantha, AirBnB, August 2017

 

 

TripAdvisor

 


Douglas Fir Kottage

Exactly what we expected it to be. A nice, cozy stay in a beautiful space. It was our first time staying in a place with the entry to our space in a shared area and we were happy with the privacy we still had. We had to call a couple of times with questions and the staff was incredibly helpful and nice.

Kate, TripAdvisor, October 2019

The space is beautiful! We stayed for a relaxing weekend and loved the claw foot tub and multiple sky lights in the space. Very relaxing and comfortable.

Haley, AirBnB, August 2019

Beautifully styled, luxuriously appointed, the space has a retreat-like atmosphere with 21st century amenities. Kara is a most welcoming host. I highly recommend Kara’s Kottages!

Lisa, AirBnB, July 2019

Kara’s space is very cozy and well decorated. The bathroom is amazing, especially the soaking tub! It is evident that a lot of thought went into making this a lovely space.

Mindy, AirBnB, March 2019

Kara is a true professional, in every sense of the word. Kara is at the top of her field, truly.

Douglas, AirBnB, February 2019

Kara's lovely place far exceeds expectation or imagination. The space was spotless, peaceful and comfortable. The bed and the bathroom, especially the soaking-friendly spacious tub under skylight, are divine. This airbnb is situated in a walking-friendly neighborhood.

Lotte, AirBnB, September 2018

This little upstairs hideaway is amazing. Absolutely beautiful views out of the windows and skylights, a luxurious bathroom, and a well stocked coffee cart made my trip incredibly enjoyable! A perfect place to get away from it all but still be right near downtown. I could not be happier with my stay.

Anna, AirBnB, August 2018

Wonderful staff. This place is better than you expect. Great value and wonderful people who care about your experience. Highly recommend!!

Ron, AirBnB, July 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Douglas Fir cottage the night before and after our wedding, and found it to be the perfect cozy and relaxing getaway! Everything was so clean, and exactly as described, and the neighborhood was very quiet. Everything from getting into the unit to finding anything we might need (towels, snacks, water glasses) was so easy. We highly recommend staying here!

Kelsey, TripAdvisor, June 2018

I sleep better here than I do at home. Love staying at Kara's Kottages when I travel for work.

Katie, AirBnB, June 2018

We stayed in the Douglas Fir and found ourselves ensconced in a wonderful, cozy and welcoming environment, with countless thoughtful touches that truly made the place feel like “home”. Everything is tastefully done. The look and feel was just as advertised and it was immediately clear that beauty, personal warmth, and high quality are greatly valued. Kara was quick to respond and accommodate our needs. Overall, an impeccable experience. Thank you so much, Kara!

Randal, AirBnB, February 2018

Wow, what a treat to stay in Kara's Kottages! My husband was skeptical of staying at an airbnb - no more! Kara's space is incredibly inviting - so many thoughtful touches. We traveled quite a ways to share Thanksgiving with family, and it was refreshing to stay here, relax, and go out the next day for more fun. We were first going to stay at Acorn but ended up in Douglas Fir - much better for me, my husband, and our teenage daughter, who was perfectly happy on the pullout sleeper. The bathroom is gorgeous and spacious, more than large enough for two to use at the same time - I quite enjoyed luxuriating in the tub after a good run. I am "thankful" this holiday season for Kara, who is gracious, kind, and a super about communication. We'll be back!

Suzanne, AirBnB, November 2017

As soon as I walked in, I was in awe. Everything was perfectly clean, very stylish, welcoming, and homey. Kara provides anything you could need while staying overnight. Her instructions were also very clear and her response time was within minutes. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bath was very relaxing. To be completely honest, I did not want to leave.

Jordyn, AirBnB, November 2017

We stayed at the Douglas Fir Kottage and it was super cute and tastefully decorated. Kara was a gracious host and was there to greet us upon arrival. She was responsive and receptive to the last minute guest (my brother who joined my husband and I.) The home is clean and spacious and comfortable. Kara provided all that we needed for a quick breakfast and coffee for the next morning after a good night's sleep in her very comfortable bed. We will return the next time we are traveling from Chicago to Detroit

Anonymous, Bedandbreakfast.com, November 2017

I have traveled all over the world and stayed in some of the nicest hotels and homes. Kara' s Cottage is the most amazing place I think I have ever seen. So thoughtful in the layout and design. Kara is extremely gifted and passionate about serving others. My wife was overwhelmingly happy with her staycation Birthday surprise bnb. Thank You!

Dwayne, AirBnB, August 2017

Kara's Douglas Fir "Kottage" is a delightful haven of cozy comfort and artistic elegance. I snuggled into the charming fireplace warmed living room and enjoyed the wifi, Netflix, and a Chai tea Keurig. The luxurious bath and heavenly bed were both thoroughly enjoyed under moonlit snowy skylights and flickering candlelight. A perfect Airbnb experience!

Leigh, AirBnB, March 2017

 

 

TripAdvisor

 


Luna Kottage

Kara's Kottages is the BEST place to stay near downtown Kalamazoo. THIS IS THE PERFECT HONEYMOON or family getaway place. Beautifully appointed and designed for a home away from home, we felt like queens with every thoughtful amenity available at our fingertips. Thanks for the DOVE chocolate and cinnamon rolls ready to bake in the fridge, Kara. We love Kara's Kottages!

Kristine, AirBnB, September 2019

What a fantastic place. So much thought has clearly been invested into every detail and use of space. And the stylish touches are honestly very inspiring. We left asking Kara where she picked up many of her things. She was also very accommodating and responsive in helping us with some extra needs. Location was an easy walk to Bell's and the Beer Exchange, so bonus. Quiet unit too, with noise reducing windows. Overall a very pleasant one night stay, and I will definitely check Kara's listings first next time I'm in town.

David, AirBnB, August 2019

 Luna Kottage is a treat! It's within walking distance of downtown and the apartment is incredibly comfortable. We enjoyed the fluffy robes and soft blankets. Kara stocks the kitchen with breakfast foods, so we never had hungry kids. She was exceptionally accommodating to the needs of our family. We would definitely stay at her property should we ever return to Kalamazoo.

Addy, TripAdvisor, July 2019

Everything about this place is A+!

Sharon, AirBnB, June 2019

This place is so beautiful. If you're staying in Kalamazoo, I would 100% recommend Kara's apartment. It's beautiful, spacious, cozy, comfortable, and she generously adds some fine touches. I wish we got to spend more time indoors! Haha. It was great. Awesome host as well.


Amy, AirBnB, June 2019

 
Incredible attention to detail! The place was clean and incredibly well thought out and decorated. An absolutely beautiful place. Amenities were top notch and really felt like a luxurious getaway. Will absolutely stay here again on another visit or look at one of Kara's other properties.

Eric, AirBnB, March 2019

Truly a beautiful place and wonderful stay. I was blown away by the style, feel, and comfort of the place. I would highly recommend this space to anyone and would choose it over any other options (including a hotel). I loved it! All of us were very happy.

Sheralyn, AirBnB, February 2019

This apartment home was right out of an HGTV episode. Kara thought of everything! Would love to stay again!

Samantha, AirBnB, January 2019

I was so impressed walking into this apartment! The lightning, furnishings, and scent were all so warmth and welcoming! There were even some light Christmas decorations that were a nice touch. I also indulged in a nice long soak in the huge bath tub! There really was no reason to leave, except you can walk to several restaurants and many shops in just minutes. This was just the post-Christmas retreat I was hoping for! Thank you, Kara!

Tiffany, AirBnB, December 2018

 

 

TripAdvisor

 


Stella Kottage

We came to Kalamazoo to do one last walk through for our wedding venue. We decided to stay at one of Kara's Kottages as many of our guests will be staying during the wedding and we wanted to see what they'd be getting. While leaving, we were very jealous of our guests. Beautiful space with thoughtful touches. 100% would stay again.

Steven, AirBnB, October 2019

We stayed the weekend, in “Stella” for our son’s wedding. Great accommodations. Quick response when we first arrived and had questions. So close to downtown, brewery, shopping. Would recommend and will stay again.

Laura, Google, June 2019

I’ll hate every hotel after staying here. This place has the cool factor you wish you had in your own house. The bed is the best example of what down should feel like, to the point that you just want to lay around all day with the pillows and comforters mushed around you. The location on Cedar Street was perfect for walking to restaurants and shops and Kara was always available via phone or text, even for a coffee emergency.

Donna, TripAdvisor, March 2019

Kara offered a comfortable space with very nice amenities. The location is conveniently central to downtown and close to K College. The apartment was cozy and just perfect for us. Kara was a great communicator and responded quickly to questions. Thank you for a wonderful stay, Kara!

Elizabeth, AirBnB, November 2018



 

 

TripAdvisor

 


Aspen Kottage

We loved the place. It was nice and clean and exactly how it was described. Good hosts!!

Todd, AirBnB, September 2019

 

 

TripAdvisor

 


Outlook Kottage

Kara’s Kottages are always a fabulous day! The cozy style and decor leave you feeling right at home... with a bit of luxury added in. Every little detail is thought of. The location of this place was superb! It is in town, but is on an overlook and surrounded by trees so it feels as though you are in the middle of the woods. I would definitely stay again!

Jesse & Renee, AirBnB, October 2019

Great place to relax. This cottage is very charming with lovely artistic decor and beautiful furnishings. This place is nestled in a neighborhood but feels like you're in a cottage in the woods! And there's easy access to lots of things in Kalamazoo. We will definitely come back!

Judi, AirBnB, September 2019

Beautiful respite with nuanced and eclectic details. We really loved our time with each other and in the space.

Jennifer, AirBnB, August 2019

Kara's Kottage was very clean and adorable. Kara was very accommodating which as very appreciated as we did book rather last minute. The Kottage is tucked away in a neighborhood and you feel like you are very private and secluded even though you are minutes away from anywhere you want to go in Kalamazoo. Her directions to find the Kottage were perfect. Will definitely stay there again!!

Darlene, AirBnB, August 2019

We really enjoyed our stay. The little cottage (which is so much more spacious inside than the pictures make it look!) was tucked away in this little oasis of greenery in the middle of Kalamazoo! The space was very cute, the bed setup worked well, and we had a lovely trip.

Natalie, AirBnB, August 2019

Our stay surpassed our expectations. Kara’s attention to every detail, the beautiful location, surrounded by trees...when we first arrived we were greeted by two deer! Kara has provided a luxurious stay that feels like home. The beds are sooo comfortable and the house is beautifully appointed. She has thought of everything. We will definitely be back.

Heather, AirBnB, July 2019

Karas place is like no other BNB. It was so clean, Comforting, And really unique. the property is super cool and secluded. it was so convenient for us to get to and from all of our wedding festivities. Highly recommend and i would definitely stay here again.

Bentley, AirBnB, June 2019

We really appreciated our stay at your place. It was comfortable, clean, and was fun to stay in a place so thoughtfully put together. The secluded feel of the place was really nice as well. The location is really Central and convenient. Also, the things like towels, shampoo, coffee and breakfast foods really made things easy for us. Would recommend.

Jon, AirBnB, June 2019

 

 

TripAdvisor